The Broken Copy Machine

Thriller Restaurant Series – Volume 18

The Broken Copy Machine

By Matsuani Miyoko

It’s said that there’s a haunted office in Tokyo’s Roppongi area. The company is related to the fashion industry in some way because models are always coming and going.

“When I was about to leave the office, I saw something suddenly come out of the darkness and I stood there, dazed.”

“Me too, I felt a chill on the back of my neck, and when I looked over my shoulder…”

They both said they saw the same woman—one with long, pitch-black hair. It was the model who used to frequent the office who’d committed suicide.

“Why is she haunting this office?”

“She must have negative feelings towards this place. I wonder why she committed suicide.”

Everyone whispered their suspicions.

The following events happened one morning. A janitor working in the building let out a scream.  Photos were being spit out of the copier and there was a mountain of them on the floor near the machine.

The copier noise continued.

He ran to the copier to clear the cue, but it wouldn’t stop shooting out photos. Thinking he’d pull the plug on the machine to cut the power, he found it already unplugged. The face on the photos was the face of the model who committed suicide.

The copier continued, the same face falling to the floor. Swoosh, swoosh…

Story 11 - Fax Machine


Translator’s Notes

The ghost in the picture cracks me up.  It says, “Awww, what a waste of paper.”

Categories CW

Leave a comment